Introduction and Mike’s Thoughts on Technologicaly Integrated Education

Hi! My name is Mike Washington, and I am a senior at Cal State University, Northridge. I am working towards my degree in Creative Writing and Literature (Double major –what up!), and am almost through with my scholastic career. Grad school…maybe. I currently am on the fence about whether or not I want to go after an MBA (Master’s in Business Administration) once I graduate. Not too sure as of yet, but I know want to. Hard part is deciding on when I will go for it (Right after graduation, wait a few years, wait a lot of years…). Decisions decisions.

I split my time a lot between work and school. I work as a writer for websites and businesses creating copy or content for their blogs, and I love it. Thing is, school sucks up a lot of the time that I would much rather be working on writing, so school has always been pretty far down on my list in terms of priorities. It’s weird to favor work more than school, I know, but I was fortunate enough to get some work doing something I genuinely enjoy early on, and I don’t take that for granted.

As far as the question that I was asked to answer, I feel that technology should be integrated more in teaching, especially in terms of the kind of tech that is genuinely useful. There is a lot of tech out there that is not useful (I.E. hover boards and Instagram), but there are also lots of tech out there that can be useful in teaching.

The iPad, for example, is a personal interface that a student can interact with and with hands-on learners, the up close and personal interactions with whatever educational material is flowing through the screen can personalize the educational experience of a student.

Smart boards also make some interesting innovations, allowing the teacher to seamlessly move from digital projections to real-life modification to objects on the board, all without the instructor having to switch back and forth between their PowerPoint presentation and marking up the whiteboard.

In elementary levels or graduate schools, tech is entering into the education process more and more. Its effect, in my opinion, is overall a good thing, but when the education is relying too heavily on tech, there might be an issue that pops up. It’s about finding a balance.

1132

One thought on “Introduction and Mike’s Thoughts on Technologicaly Integrated Education

  1. Hey Mike,
    I absolutely LOOOOVE your blog! It’s clear, fun and has a wonderful relaxed feeling. As I get more comfortable with using the internet I hope to be able to bring the warmth you have into mine. Also, I was interested in the comment you made about a smart board. I don’t even know what that is! It looks like you are off to a great start and I am excited to see what creative writing you bring to your blog as well. Best! Diane

    Like

Leave a Reply

